## 2018 Blue Planet Prize Commemorative Lectures in Kyoto (Admission : Free)

The Commemorative Lectures by the 2018 Blue Planet Prize winners will be held at the following time and place:

Date & Time: October 13, 2018, 13:20 - 16:45 (Admittance from 12:50) Venue: Kyoto University Clock Tower Centennial Hall (Yoshida-honmachi, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto)

<Program> \* Simultaneous translation between English and Japanese will be provided

Part One : Prof. Brian Walker The Science and Practice of Resilience Thinking



He has had a most signi cant in uence on the development of the concept of resilience in social-ecological systems and has highlighted the need to increase it to maintain human society under changing circumstances.

Q&A:Coodinator Prof. Kanehiro Kitayam (Professor of Forest Ecology, Kyoto University)

## Part Two: Prof. Malin Falkenmark

Shift in water thinking - crucial for hunger alleviation in sub-Saharan Africa



She has been the most renowned global hydrologist and has placed water problems onto the global policy agenda. Her ideas and activities have had an enormous impact for solving today's environmental problems.

Q&A:Coodinator Prof. Taikan Oki (Senior Vice-Rector, United Nations University, Japan, Assistant Secretary-General, United Nations)

<Application for the lecture> Please apply from our HP, http://www.af-info.or.jp/en by 28th September. It will be closed when it becomes capacity.

(The Asahi Glass Foundation will appropriately manage all personal information you provide to us. We only use your personal information to send you information from the Foundation, etc.,.)



## **Blue Planet Prize**

In 1992, the year of the Earth Summit, the Asahi Glass Foundation established the Blue Planet Prize, an award presented to individuals or organizations worldwide in recognition of outstanding achievements in scientific research and its application that have helped provide solutions to global environmental problems. The Prize is offered in the hopes of encouraging efforts to bring about the healing of the Earth's fragile environment.

As a general rule, two recipients are chosen annually. Each recipient is presented with a certificate of merit, a commemorative trophy and a supplementary award of ¥50 million.