The APN Science Bulletin is a peer-reviewed digital publication that features research and capacity building projects funded by APN. The Science Bulletin is intended for readers from both science and policymaking communities, as well as young scientists in the Asia-Pacific region who are keen on issues related to global environmental change, sustainable development and the science of sustainability.

All opinions, findings, conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of APN. While the information and advice in this publication are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication, neither the editors nor APN accepts any legal responsibility for any errors or omissions that may be made. APN and its member countries make no warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein.

(CC) 2017 Asia-Pacific Network for Global Change Research (APN)

Citation: Miah, M. G., Myeong, S., & Stevenson, L. A., (Eds.). (2017). APN Science Bulletin (7). Asia-Pacific Network for Global Change Research (APN).

ISSN 2185-761X (Print)
ISSN 2522-7971 (Digital)

Executive Editors

  • Prof. Md. Giashuddin Miah, Vice Chancellor, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University, Bangladesh
  • Dr Soojeong Myeong, Senior Research Fellow, Korea Environment Institute/Korea Adaptation Center for Climate Change, Republic of Korea

Managing Editor

  • Dr Linda Anne Stevenson, Head, Communication and Scientific Affairs, APN Secretariat

Editorial Advisory Committee

  • Assist. Prof. Edwin Abucay, Department of Community and Environmental Resource Planning, College of Human Ecology, University of the Philippines Los Baños (UPLB), Philippines
  • Dr Varaprasad Bandaru, Associate Research Professor, the University of Maryland, USA
  • Dr Punyasloke Bhadury, Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences and Center for Climate and Environmental Studies, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Kolkata, India
  • Assist. Prof. Jeff Birchall, Planning Program, Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, University of Alberta, Canada
  • Dr Wynn Chi Nguyen Cam, Senior Associate, RSP Architects Planners & Engineers (Pte) Ltd., Singapore
  • Prof. Jianyao Chen, Sun Yat-sen University, China
  • Dr Glenn Fernandez, Graduate School of Global Environmental Studies, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Dr Pedro Fidelman, Adjunct Fellow, Sustainability Research Centre, University of the Sunshine Coast, Australia
  • Assist. Prof. Dr Mohan Geetha, Integrated Research System for Sustainability Science, The University of Tokyo Institutes for Advanced Study, Japan
  • Mr Azhan Hasan, Lecturer and Researcher, Universiti Teknologi Petronas (UTP) Malaysia and the Environmental Policy Research Centre (FFU), Freie Universität (FU) Berlin, Germany
  • Dr Haseeb Md. Irfanullah, IUCN, Bangladesh Country Office, Bangladesh
  • Dr Mohammad Rafiqul Islam, Water Governance & Institutional Expert, Bangladesh Delta Plan 2100, Ministry of Planning, Bangladesh
  • Dr Chris Jacobson, University of the Sunshine Coast, Australia
  • Dr Rodel Lasco, Philippine Programme Coordinator, World Agroforestry Centre, Philippines
  • Dr Louis Lebel, Director, Unit for Social and Environmental Research, Chiang Mai University, Thailand
  • Prof. Buddhi Marambe, Faculty of Agriculture, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka
  • Dr Monoranjan Mohanty, ICAR-Indian Institute of Soil Science, India
  • Dr Sathaporn Monprapussorn, Lecturer &Researcher, Srinakharinwirot University, Thailand
  • Assist. Prof. Dr Shakir Muhammad, University of Peshawar Pakistan, Pakistan
  • Prof. Andreas Neef, Director – Development Studies Programme, University of Auckland, New Zealand
  • Dr Rajiv Pandey, BCC Division, Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education, Dehradun, India
  • Dr Anant Parekh, Scientist, Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology, India
  • Prof. Bhatta Ramachandra, Head, Karnataka Veterinary, Animal and Fisheries Sciences University, India
  • Dr Ramani Bai V., Professor, Faculty of Built Environment, Linton Univesity College, Mantin, West Malaysia
  • Prof. Joyashree Roy, Professor of Economics, Jadavpur University, India
  • Prof. Krishna Gopal Saxena, Member Executive Council, National Institute of Ecology, India
  • Dr Ayyoob Sharifi, Executive Director of the Global Carbon Project, National Institute for Environmental Studies, Japan
  • Dr Shaju Thomas, Head of Division, Environmental Education, and Conservation, Tropical Institute of Ecological Sciences(TIES), India
  • Dr Srivatsan Vijayaraghavan, Senior Research Fellow, Tropical Marine Science Institute, National University of Singapore, 18 Kent Ridge Road Singapore 119227
  • Dr Eberhard Heinrich Weber, Senior Lecturer, The University of the South Pacific, Laucala Campus, Fiji
  • Dr Thushara Navodani Wickramaarachchi, Senior Lecturer, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, University of Ruhuna, Hapugala, Galle, Sri Lanka
  • Mr Poorna Yahampath, International Researcher/Consultant, Climate Change Research Institute of Korea (CRIK/Korea), Republic of Korea
  • Prof. Shouye Yang, Tongji University, China